October 21, 1911

by Stephanie Dana

I thought I would scan one of the letters to give you an idea of the handwriting, this letter is on stationary, mostly the rest are on plain paper.

Dear Leland-

Rec’d Ma’s Letter today and yours last week. How glad I am that you like your school. I do hope you will continue and have success in exams.

We have been having two days rain and I tell you the pond and dam and pretty. Everything else looks muddy. Mary is up around the house but doesn’t work any yet.

Edward is just as cute as he can be. He is sitting on my lap and watching my pen go and laughing out loud. He sees and notices everything. He laughs every time he sees his father and such bear hugs as he gets ___ he likes it. He most pushed my paper off the desk.

we thought once we would all come home this fall but we have given that up. I don;t know as I will come until I come for good. We can’t afford to come this fall although Percy thinks he ought to go. I will make a big ____ if he does.

Leila

One Comment to “October 21, 1911”

  1. i love the one with the hand!

Leave a Reply

